
September 29, 2026 | 12 min read
Abakkus Asset Manager IPO: Dates, Price, Lot Size, Issue Details and DRHP Analysis
Abakkus Asset Manager is an India-focused investment manager built around equity strategies. It manages money through portfolio management services, alternative investment funds, an offshore UCITS fund, private equity products and a relatively new mutual fund business.
The proposed Abakkus Asset Manager IPO is a pure offer for sale of up to 1.50 crore equity shares by promoter Abakkus Expert Professionals LLP. The company will not receive any proceeds, which means investors are evaluating an existing asset-management franchise rather than an IPO-funded expansion plan.
That distinction matters. The central questions are whether assets under management can keep compounding, whether investment performance can hold up across market cycles, and whether the new mutual fund platform can scale without weakening margins.
Key indicator | FY2026 / DRHP disclosure |
|---|---|
Total QAAUM | ₹41,409.10 crore |
Revenue from operations | ₹765.91 crore |
Profit after tax | ₹327.05 crore |
Operating profit margin | 53.05% |
Offer size | Up to 1.50 crore shares; value not yet announced |
Abakkus Asset Manager IPO Dates and Launch Details
The DRHP does not contain the issue opening date, closing date, allotment date or listing date. These details usually appear when the company files its red herring prospectus and announces the price band.
Milestone | Status |
|---|---|
DRHP filed | 22 September 2026 |
Anchor investor bidding date | To be announced |
IPO opens | To be announced |
IPO closes | To be announced |
Basis of allotment | To be announced |
Listing date | To be announced |
Abakkus Asset Manager IPO Price Band and Investment Details
The Abakkus Asset Manager IPO price band and minimum bid lot are not available at the DRHP stage. The total rupee size of the offer and the minimum retail investment therefore cannot be calculated yet.
Valuation also remains an open question. FY2026 diluted EPS was ₹21.52 and net asset value per diluted share was ₹147.95, but a P/E or price-to-book multiple would be meaningless until the price band is published.
Item | DRHP position |
|---|---|
Face value | ₹2 per equity share |
Price band | To be announced |
Minimum bid lot | To be announced |
Minimum retail investment | Cannot be calculated yet |
Employee discount | May be offered; amount not announced |
Abakkus Asset Manager IPO Structure
Particular | Abakkus Asset Manager IPO details |
|---|---|
Fresh issue | Nil |
Offer for sale | Up to 1,50,00,000 equity shares |
Selling shareholder | Abakkus Expert Professionals LLP, a promoter |
Company proceeds | Nil |
Objects of the offer | Listing benefits, visibility, brand image and a public market for the shares |
Proposed listing | |
Book running lead managers | Axis Capital, ICICI Securities, IIFL Capital Services and JM Financial |
Registrar |
Who gets the IPO proceeds?
All net proceeds will go to Abakkus Expert Professionals LLP after offer expenses and taxes attributable to the selling shareholder. There is no fresh capital for product launches, technology, acquisitions or the balance sheet.
A pure OFS is not automatically negative, but it changes the test. The case must stand on earnings quality, growth durability, governance and the eventual valuation rather than on a promised use of fresh funds.
Indicative reservation
Under the book-building structure described in the DRHP, not more than 50% of the net offer is available for QIBs. Not less than 15% is for non-institutional bidders and not less than 35% is for retail individual bidders, subject to the final RHP and any employee reservation.
About Abakkus Asset Manager
The business was founded in 2018 by Sunil Banwarilal Singhania, who has more than three decades of asset-management and equity investing experience. Abakkus began as an LLP, became a private limited company in September 2024 and converted into a public limited company in September 2026.
As of March 2026, 93.67% of managed and advised assets were in listed equity and equity oriented strategies. That focus gives Abakkus a clear identity, but it also makes the business more sensitive to Indian equity-market levels and investor risk appetite than a diversified, multi-asset manager.
The company reported total QAAUM of ₹41,409.10 crore in FY2026. It also ranked fourth in India's total equity-strategy discretionary PMS segment by AUM, with a 5.25% market share as of 31 March 2026, based on the ICRA report included in the DRHP.
The four business verticals
Alternates: Category III AIFs and PMS products aimed mainly at sophisticated investors. FY2026 QAAUM was ₹13,389.51 crore for Category III AIFs and ₹20,774.23 crore for PMS.
Offshore and other products: the Aryabhata India Fund, an Ireland domiciled UCITS fund, and registered investment advisory mandates. Combined FY2026 QAAUM was ₹1,460.06 crore.
Private equity: Category I venture funds and a Category II private equity fund focused on sector agnostic mid to late stage companies. FY2026 QAAUM was ₹2,655.83 crore.
Mutual funds: Abakkus Liquid Fund, Abakkus Flexi Cap Fund and Abakkus Small Cap Fund. The business ended FY2026 with ₹3,129.47 crore of QAAUM and 88,220 folios.
How the Abakkus Business Model Works
Abakkus earns management and advisory fees for managing client assets. Some PMS and AIF arrangements also carry performance linked fees when returns cross agreed hurdles or benchmarks.
The economics are attractive when AUM rises because the same research and operating platform can support more assets. They are also market-sensitive: falling portfolio values, redemptions or weak performance can reduce both the fee base and performance income.
Revenue engine
Fee stream | FY2026 | % of operating revenue |
|---|---|---|
AIF, PMS, private equity and UCITS fees | ₹761.73 crore | 99.45% |
Mutual fund management fees | ₹1.76 crore | 0.23% |
Management and other fees | ₹2.43 crore | 0.32% |
Included performance-linked fees | ₹105.70 crore | 13.80%* |
The operating revenue yield softened to 1.83% in FY2026 from 1.91% in FY2025. Product mix matters: faster growth in lower-fee mutual funds can lift AUM without producing the same revenue growth as the Alternates franchise.
Distribution is central to growth
Distribution partners sourced 77.36% of FY2026 QAAUM, while direct channels contributed 22.64%. Wealth managers, banks and national distributors were the largest individual channel groups.
This reach helps Abakkus gather assets, but it is not free. Fees and commission expenses were ₹251.42 crore, or 32.83% of operating revenue, in FY2026.
Abakkus Asset Manager Financial Performance
The analysis below uses the restated consolidated financial information in the DRHP. Figures have been converted from ₹ million to ₹ crore, with final values rounded to two decimals.
Metric (₹ crore) | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
Revenue from operations | 418.60 | 683.57 | 765.91 |
235.00 | 346.94 | 409.64 | |
EBITDA margin | 56.14% | 50.75% | 53.48% |
Profit after tax | 205.43 | 257.72 | 327.05 |
PAT margin | 42.92% | 36.44% | 41.08% |
Cash flow from operations | 184.47 | 175.08 | 332.04 |
178.48 | 168.98 | 321.51 |
Growth was strong, but the FY2026 mix deserves attention
Operating revenue rose at a 35.27% CAGR from FY2024 to FY2026, while PAT grew at 26.18%. Revenue growth slowed to 12.04% in FY2026 after 63.30% in FY2025, even as PAT growth accelerated to 26.90%.
Two moving parts help explain the pattern. Fees and commission expenses fell by ₹31.50 crore in FY2026, while employee benefit expense more than doubled to ₹80.57 crore, partly reflecting ₹28.68 crore of share-based payment expense.
Cash conversion improved
Operating cash flow was ₹332.04 crore in FY2026, slightly above PAT of ₹327.05 crore. That is a meaningful recovery from FY2025, when operating cash flow covered about 68% of PAT.
Capital expenditure is modest because this is an asset-light service business. Estimated free cash flow reached ₹321.51 crore in FY2026, which supports the quality of reported earnings for that year.
Balance sheet and returns
Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
Net worth (₹ crore) | 295.64 | 406.59 | 751.27 |
Cash and bank balances (₹ crore) | 17.88 | 12.41 | 29.19 |
Investments (₹ crore) | 314.51 | 361.07 | 678.82 |
External borrowings | Nil | Nil | Nil |
Lease liabilities (₹ crore) | 2.77 | 4.50 | 5.51 |
95.23% | 73.40% | 56.49% | |
ROCE | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
The group had no external borrowings, so conventional debt-equity was effectively nil, excluding lease liabilities. ROE remains high but fell as the equity base expanded faster than profit; that is the right interpretation, rather than reading the decline as an operating collapse.
ROCE is not disclosed and is less informative here because most assets are financial investments and the business carries no conventional debt. Investors should focus more on fee yield, operating margin, cash conversion and return on equity.
Working-capital view
Metric | FY2024 | FY2025 | FY2026 |
|---|---|---|---|
Trade receivable days | 58.9 | 46.2 | 48.4 |
AUM Mix: The Metric That Drives the Economics
Business | FY2024 QAAUM | FY2025 QAAUM | FY2026 QAAUM | FY2026 mix |
|---|---|---|---|---|
PMS | ₹14,086.66 cr | ₹18,061.94 cr | ₹20,774.23 cr | 50.17% |
Category III AIF | ₹12,355.88 cr | ₹12,149.66 cr | ₹13,389.51 cr | 32.33% |
Private equity | ₹101.13 cr | ₹2,565.48 cr | ₹2,655.83 cr | 6.41% |
– | – | ₹3,129.47 cr | 7.56% | |
UCITS | ₹275.21 cr | ₹743.43 cr | ₹1,264.02 cr | 3.05% |
RIA | ₹491.42 cr | ₹474.21 cr | ₹196.04 cr | 0.47% |
Total | ₹27,310.29 cr | ₹33,994.71 cr | ₹41,409.10 cr | 100.00% |
Total QAAUM grew at a 23.14% CAGR over FY2024-FY2026. PMS and Category III AIFs still formed 82.50% of FY2026 QAAUM, so the group remains more concentrated in sophisticated-investor products than the four-vertical description may initially suggest.
FY2026 PMS net new money fell to ₹447.04 crore from ₹2,859.07 crore in FY2025 and ₹4,264.46 crore in FY2024. Closing PMS AUM still grew, but the sharp slowdown in net flows is one of the most important indicators to watch.
Sector and Market Context
The industry backdrop is supportive. The ICRA report in the DRHP says India's mutual fund AUM rose from ₹31.4 trillion in FY2021 to ₹73.7 trillion in FY2026, while PMS AUM increased from ₹20.7 trillion to ₹41.4 trillion.
Alternative investments grew faster, with assets increasing from ₹2.5 trillion in FY2021 to ₹7.1 trillion in FY2026. Category III AIF investments recorded a 38.6% CAGR over that period, directly relevant to Abakkus's largest non-PMS vertical.
There is still a hard commercial reality behind the growth statistics. Larger mutual fund companies have deeper brands, more schemes and wider distribution, while PMS and AIF investors can move capital quickly if performance or service disappoints.
Strengths of Abakkus Asset Manager
1. A scaled equity-investment franchise
Abakkus reached ₹41,409.10 crore of QAAUM within eight years of being founded. Its 5.25% share of the equity-strategy discretionary PMS market and fourth-place ranking indicate that this is already a meaningful franchise, not a pre-scale platform.
2. Strong reported investment performance
The three largest PMS approaches disclosed in the DRHP had generated since-inception returns above their relevant benchmarks as of March 2026. The disclosed Category III AIF strategies also showed positive alpha over their benchmarks, though past returns cannot be projected forward.
3. High margins and an asset-light model
Operating profit margin stayed above 50% in each of the last three financial years. With modest capex and no external borrowings, growth can translate into cash without heavy balance sheet funding.
4. A broader product platform is taking shape
PMS and Category III AIFs remain the core, but UCITS, private equity and mutual funds offer additional routes to gather assets. The mutual fund platform reached ₹3,129.47 crore of QAAUM by March 2026 despite being in its first year of operations.
5. Founder experience with a growing institutional team
Sunil Singhania remains closely involved, while the research and investment team had 35 members as of March 2026. The company had 141 employees overall, up from 79 in FY2024.
Risks
1. Equity-market dependence is structural
With 93.67% of managed and advised assets in listed equity and equity-oriented strategies, a broad market fall can reduce AUM and fee income even without redemptions. It can also make performance fees less predictable and slow new allocations.
2. One client mattered materially in FY2026
A single PMS client contributed ₹109.31 crore, or 14.27% of operating revenue, in FY2026. Losing that relationship, receiving a lower performance fee or seeing the underlying assets fall could cause a visible earnings impact.
3. Distribution concentration remains meaningful
The top 10 distributors sourced 45.68% of FY2026 QAAUM, although this improved from 52.12% in FY2024. A distributor can promote competing products, demand higher economics or terminate an arrangement, so concentration should continue to fall as the platform scales.
4. Performance-linked income can swing
Performance-linked fees were ₹105.70 crore in FY2026, equal to about 13.80% of operating revenue. This boosts margins in good periods but introduces variability that a simple revenue CAGR can hide.
5. PMS net flows slowed sharply
Net new money in PMS fell to ₹447.04 crore in FY2026 from ₹2,859.07 crore a year earlier. Investors should separate AUM growth caused by market appreciation from AUM growth caused by fresh client money.
6. The mutual fund business is early and costly to scale
The mutual fund vertical generated just ₹1.76 crore of management fees in FY2026, while launch, distribution, technology and staffing costs arrive ahead of revenue. Scale could improve operating leverage, but the path will be competitive and may pressure group margins first.
7. Key-person and talent risk is real
The brand and investment process are closely associated with the founder and senior investment professionals. FY2026 KMP attrition was 33.33%, while investment-team attrition was 15.87%, making retention and succession important monitorables.
8. Regulation can change product economics
PMS, AIF, mutual fund, advisory and offshore activities operate under different regulatory regimes. Changes to fees, expenses, eligibility, valuation, disclosure or distribution rules can alter growth and profitability across the platform.
9. The IPO does not fund growth
Because the issue is entirely an OFS, the company receives no incremental capital. Planned mutual fund launches, technology investment and offshore expansion must be funded from internal resources or future financing.
Opportunities Ahead
Retail expansion through mutual funds
Abakkus plans to add hybrid, dynamic asset-allocation and arbitrage products while widening bank, IFA, wealth-manager and digital distribution. A larger retail base can reduce dependence on high-ticket PMS and AIF clients, although fee yields may decline as the mix shifts.
More products for sophisticated investors
The pipeline includes new Category III AIF strategies and a specialised investment fund offering. These can deepen wallet share with existing investors and use the same research platform across more products.
Offshore access through UCITS and GIFT City
UCITS QAAUM grew from ₹275.21 crore in FY2024 to ₹1,264.02 crore in FY2026. Proposed GIFT City feeder funds could make Indian strategies easier to access for foreign institutions and non-resident investors.
Operating leverage, if fee growth outruns costs
The cost base includes investment talent, distributor commissions, technology and compliance. If new products gather durable assets without proportional cost growth, the platform can preserve strong margins; if not, headline AUM growth may overstate economic progress.
What to Monitor Before and After Listing
Monitorable | Why it matters |
|---|---|
Price band and implied valuation | The DRHP does not permit a valuation judgement; compare P/E, P/B and earnings quality when pricing is announced. |
PMS net new money | Shows whether client additions and fresh allocations are supporting AUM beyond market appreciation. |
Operating revenue yield | Tracks fee pressure and the impact of a growing lower-fee mutual fund mix. |
Performance-fee share | A higher share can lift profit but makes earnings less recurring. |
Mutual fund QAAUM, folios and SIP flows | Tests whether the retail platform can achieve scale and operating leverage. |
Top-client and distributor concentration | Lower concentration reduces the earnings impact of losing a relationship. |
Operating margin and employee costs | Shows whether product expansion and talent investment are creating or consuming leverage. |
CFO versus PAT | Checks whether reported profit converts into cash across fee cycles. |
Investment-team retention | Investment performance and client confidence depend heavily on people. |
Conclusion
Abakkus combines a scaled PMS and AIF franchise with high margins, strong cash generation and a credible move into mutual funds and offshore products. Its financial record is attractive, but the quality of future growth will depend on net inflows, fee yield and investment performance rather than on AUM alone.
The pure OFS structure means pricing will carry even more weight. Once the RHP is available, investors should place the implied valuation beside the durability of fee income, the concentration risks and the cost of building the retail franchise before forming a view.
Track the final Abakkus Asset Manager IPO price band, lot size and dates in the RHP, then revisit the monitorables above with the valuation in hand.
Disclaimer: This blog is only for educational and informational purposes and does not constitute investment advice. Please consult your financial advisor before taking any investment decisions.
FAQ
It is a proposed mainboard IPO comprising an offer for sale of up to 1.50 crore equity shares by promoter Abakkus Expert Professionals LLP.
